coding / planning / productivity

New Year, New Plans

Happy new year! I hope this year brings brighter days and new accomplishments for you. 2016 was a good year for myself and my family. I achieved a goal of becoming a certified Web Applications Developer and proved to myself that I can continue to learn and grow as a person. I also grew at my day job and have proven to be a valuable player in my office. I work for a good engineering consulting firm and enjoy my time there while pursuing other interests.

I look forward to building my coding skills and helping people build their websites. That’s the ultimate goal of doing what I’m doing. It’s fun and challenging. It’s frustrating and difficult. But when I finally solve an issue I thought was a dead end I realize why I’m doing all this. It’s because I can prove to myself that I can make it in a new and growing field. I wanted a career change and told myself that I can learn to code and I did.

I wish I would have chosen the computer science field when I was in school, but it’s never too late to learn. That’s what I tell people when they ask how do you get into coding. There are many free online resources and you can learn much of it on your own. I started off with Codecademy, which is a free website that teaches you the basics of coding. It’s easy to follow and you learn the jist of HTML and CSS. I then moved on to a premium site called Treehouse, which I love and highly recommend. Treehouse is great for beginners and advanced coders. Their classes, which are referred to as tracks, are easy to follow and the instructors are helpful. They also have a forum where you can ask questions and help other students. They now offer a Tech Degree so you can become certified through their instructors. I chose a certification program through my local university. It was 12 months and after passing the final project, I received a certification from the university. It was done all online and at my own pace, which worked out with my work schedule. I chose this route because I wanted something concrete I could add to my resume aside from being self taught. I learned a lot and encourage others to look into their local colleges for similar programs. I used Treehouse as an additional  resource while getting certified and it proved to be very useful. I also love following Instagram accounts like made with code. They’re aimed at encouraging high school and young women to pursue the tech field. I’m obviously not in high school, but made with code has a positive approach at making coding something exciting and a fun thing learn for girls of all ages. I love what they represent and do for the community.

img_7219-1

With that said, I hope to build my skills this year and produce a portfolio that I am proud of. It’s always a good time to learn something new and exciting. You can do it for a new hobby or even to change your career path. It really is possible. Feel free to get in touch if you have any questions. We need more girls and women in the technology and science field so don’t be scared to try it. Happy new year and cheers to always learning!

xo

Reena

Leave a Reply

